Luke Evans reads Treasure Island – Interview

16 Aug

Luke Evans Q&A

Earlier this year Luke Evans recorded Treasure Island, as part of AudioGO’s Famous Fiction range. He is a British actor from movies such as Fast & Furious 6, The Three Musketeers and soon to star in the next instalments of The Hobbit. We asked asked him a few questions about his recording of Treasure Island and favourite children’s books.

Luke Evans reading Treasure Island

Luke Evans reading Treasure Island

Had you read Treasure Island as a child?

I had it read to me a very long time ago and I’d seen the movie and loved it.

2. What do you like best about the character of Jim Hawkins?

His sense of adventure, his stealth and his brilliant use of initiative. He knows more than everyone else on the ship.

3. Which character is the most challenging?

Probably Silver. His voice was the hardest to master.

4. What is your favourite part of the story?

I like the scary blind beggar scenes, I can imagine jack being terrified when the man grabbed his arm.

5. If you were acting in Treasure Island, which character would you like to portray?

I think I’d like to portray Long John Silver. He’s the legendary pirate. And I love parrots.

6. What’s your favourite children’s book?

Enid Blyton’s Famous Five and Secret Seven books. I used to listen to the audiobooks while on rainy caravanning holidays in Tenby when I was a kid.

Luke Evans reads Treasure Island is available on CD and Download from AudioGO.

Leave a Reply

