One for the Dads

7 Jun

16th June is Father’s Day! Struggling to think of what to get your dad? We are here to give you a helping hand with making your selection. We asked the dads at AudioGO which audiobooks they love to listen to when they like to wind down.

Jan Paterson, Publishing Director:
Chowringhee ‘When I am on holiday or have a long drive, I really like to get into an unabridged book.  But over this weekend, what with thinking of things to do with the kids, and one thing and another, I will not get much time for listening, so I then chose to listen to short plays or comedy.  Earlier this week I met up with Roger Elsgood, who has produced a radio version of the Indian bestseller Chowringhee, which he recorded on location in Culcutta.  I am also looking forward to catching up on the latest instalment of The People’s Songs.’

Steve Jones, Audio Engineer:
‘Rather self-indulgently I’m listening to my own creation (I did the music) of ‘Wheels on The Bus Singalong in the car.  My 2 year old son loves it and there are loads of classic rhymes that he knows and sings already in nursery.’

Matt Edwards, Digital Marketing Manager:
You Only Live Twice‘I like to listen to anything by Douglas Reeman because they’re always very well read and have guns and explosions! I also loved all the Bond audiobooks because they were really different from the Bond you see in the movies. There is a stellar cast of narrators. Martin Jarvis was the best!’

Steve Borge, E-Commerce Manager:
I’m getting into Cabin Pressure because I saw it in the bestsellers chart and wondered what all the fuss was about. I was completely hooked! Hilarious performances, especially from Benedict Cumberbatch. I’m thinking of listening to the ‘John Finnemore Souvenir Programme’ next.

We’ve put all of our best ideas into our Father’s Day page, and you can save £3 when you spend over £10! Make sure you order by Wednesday 12th June so your CDs can be delivered in time for Sunday!

If you’re a dad what do you like to listen to? 

One Response to “One for the Dads”

  1. darmowe audiobooki August 18, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

