Kerry Wilkinson – Jessica Daniel audiobooks

30 May

Kerry WilkinsonKerry Wilkinson is the author of the Jessica Daniel series.

For those of you who don’t know, AudioGO publish my Jessica Daniel series, read by the wonderful Becky Hindley. From next year, they will also be producing my young adult-fantasy series – the Silver Blackthorn trilogy.

In all of the things that have happened to me as a writer, working with the audio publishers is one of the most exciting, mainly because I’ve listened to audiobooks my entire life.

Depending on the way you look at it, I was either a “hyperactive” child or a “royal pain in the arse”. I go for the first option, my mother might tell you the second. Anyway, to help send me to sleep, I’d listen to audio tapes every night. Yes, TAPES. If you’re under thirty, you’ll have to do some Googling.

I never really grew out of that habit of listening to books. When I was a teenager, I used to do some agency work in my summer holidays. I worked in a factory packing yoghurt pots into boxes and I did night shifts in another place that produced sprinkler heads. I would go to the library twice a week, borrow as many audio tapes as I could get away with, then spend my shifts immersing myself in a world that wasn’t a production line.

For me to be a part of the AudioGO family is incredible. Yes, the MP3s are great – but there’s something fabulous about having the physical thing in my hands. I love the CDs (no tapes now!) and the packaging. It’s so strange to see my name printed on the type of thing I grew up listening to night after night.

The only strange thing for me is that I find my own audios almost impossible to listen to. It’s nothing at all to do with Becky (sorry!), simply that I remember writing the words. I can picture myself on the sofa, on trains, planes and numerous other places. It’s weird but it’s wonderful and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Kerry Wilkinson

Browse our audiobooks by Kerry Wilkinson.

Leave a Reply

