Maggie Lawrie’s Blog: Why diets DO work & 3 tips to get you to the end of your diet!

16 Mar

In this blog post, Maggie Lawrie gives advice on weight loss. Maggie has made a number of our self help titles including The Secret Guide to Weight Loss.

Whoever first said ‘diets don’t work’ probably didn’t understand what its like to put on weight and want to lose it. Any of the healthy eating and exercise programs out there will work but only when the mind is clearly fixed on success not failure. The end result- what we truly want to look like and feel like when we’ve lost the weight has to be clear enough in our minds to make the diet worth the effort. The catch is always managing to deal with the cravings. We all know that eating too much junk food isn’t a good plan and makes us unhealthy, but it can also make us crave more and more of it. The real trick in getting to the end of the diet is getting your mind around feeling a little bit hungry for a short while and reminding yourself why you want to be in great shape in the first place.

After a few days of removing things like sugar from your diet, there’s likely to be an energy slump and then you have a real battle going on in your mind, which can cause stress. For a way through the cravings and not giving in try these 3 simple things:

1. Keep the image of you in your best shape ever in your mind, you being able to walk faster, fit into those skinny jeans and feeling free to choose the clothes you really want to wear instead of ‘covering up the real you’.

2. Have a plan for when you might get tempted. Look at your diary for the next 2 weeks – where are the pitfalls and remember what works for you. Manage your mind by not focussing on the times when you’ve failed at something but remember the times when things went well and you got the results you wanted.

3. Relax, don’t panic if you go slightly off your diet its not the end of the world or the diet – just get straight back on it! I know the temptation is to feel you’ve failed and to give up but its simply not true. Anyone setting a goal might incur a problem or two along the way but that doesn’t mean it’s the end of the goal. Take a nice deep breath, smile and think of a time when you felt full of energy, go for a walk, clear your mind and think of the end result of your diet.

I’m sure there are lots more ways to stay on track and it would be great to hear about your top tips in the comments box below, please share as it might just be the one thing that helps someone get into their skinny jeans!

Maggie Lawrie is the author of Audiobooks with Mind Programing Relaxations to help you with achieving your goals and de stressing your life, including The Secret Guide to Weight Loss. Browse our Maggie Lawrie audio books.

5 Responses to “Maggie Lawrie’s Blog: Why diets DO work & 3 tips to get you to the end of your diet!”

  1. EIM March 18, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    Thanks for you help Maggie. Its always nice to know I am not going it alone. One tip that really worked for me was to break the connection between a cup of tea and a biscuit. I got to the point where I couldn’t drink tea without the biscuit so what I did was, to get started, allow myself to have the biscuit but absolutely not with the tea, The biscuits soon lost there appeal when not dunked and I was able to drink the tea on its own again, I was kidding myself that I drank tea without sugar but really the biscuit was the sugar.
    Another thing that really worked for me……there was this guy that I really liked in my office (I was single at the time) and I said to him “Would you help me with my diet goal? If I loose half a stone will you let me take you out to dinner as my reward” He said Yes and the weight fell off me.

    • maggie7m March 19, 2013 at 10:27 am #

      Thanks so much for those – great tips and made me smile too!! Maggie

  2. Kate March 20, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    For me, a diet that works is one that doesn’t restrict the amount you eat, only the types of food you eat. That means you can carry around plenty of supplies of ‘permissable’ foods and you know you are never going to feel hungry. That really helps me feel relaxed and confident I will stick to it.

    • maggie7m March 21, 2013 at 10:31 am #

      Thanks very much for that Kate. I agree, feeling relaxed not stressed on any diet is going to help in all sorts of ways including I believe faster weight loss.

  3. Jennifer June 16, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    Bottom line is you should use a diet program that does not lead you to feeling bad about yourself and about the whole process itself. It’s difficult to achieve good physical appearance if your inner you is unable to radiate that feeling of satisfaction of happiness over what you are doing.

    In addition to “The Secret Guide to Weight Loss,” I think it’s also good to read something that says “The Dieting Guides You Refuse to Understand and Follow.” Most of us just don’t successfully achieve our targets with dieting not because we lack the knowledge. It’s usually because we don’t have the discipline and common sense to do what experts like Maggie tell us.

Leave a Reply

